The architectural work of Le Corbusier,
an exceptional contribution
to the modern movement

The architectural work of Le Corbusier an outstanding contribution to the modern movement inscribed on the unesco world heritage list

The serial inscription of the Architectural Work of Le Corbusier on the World Heritage List took place in July 2016 at the 40th of the World Heritage Committee in Istanbul. It is the result of joint work by Germany, Argentina, Belgium, France, India, Japan and Switzerland.

This is a transnational inscription. The seventeen sites that make up the series constitute a relevant entity with respect to the influence of Le Corbusier’s work in the world. Each contributes to the outstanding universal value of the series and gives it its internal coherence.

The inscription on the UNESCO World Heritage List of a series of buildings completed by Le Corbusier and the commitment of the states associated in the series serve to guarantee the work’s permanence.

  • View 1
  • View 2
  • Maisons La Roche
et Jeanneret 01 Maisons La Roche
    et Jeanneret
    Maisons La Roche et Jeanneret are the first expression of Purism in architecture. See more
  • Petite villa
au bord du lac Léman 02 Petite villa
    au bord du lac Léman
    The Petite villa au bord du lac Léman is the archetype of the minimum house. See more
  • Cité Frugès 03 Cité Frugès Cité Frugès is the prototype of the standardized housing development in the 1920s, at that time unmatched in its ambitions. See more
  • Maison Guiette 04 Maison Guiette Based on the Pavillon de L'Esprit Nouveau, Maison Guiette is the first foreign commission received by Le Corbusier and denotes his early recognition at European level. See more
  • Maisons de la
Weissenhof-Siedlung 05 Maisons de la
    Weissenhof-Siedlung
    The Maisons de la Weissenhof Siedlung are two outstanding models of serial housing for the greatest number. They achieved global impact through the international response to the 1927 Deutscher Werkbund architectural exhibition on the theme of housing. See more
  • Villa Savoye et
loge du jardinier 06 Villa Savoye et
    loge du jardinier
    The Villa Savoye is the absolute icon of the modern movement, immediately recognized as such. See more
  • Immeuble Clarté 07 Immeuble Clarté The immeuble Clarté, derived from the Immeuble-Villa model, is the prototype of prefabricated modern luxury housing. See more
  • Immeuble locatif
à la Porte Molitor 08 Immeuble locatif
    à la Porte Molitor
    The Immeuble locatif à la Porte Molitor was the first residential building in the world to have entirely glazed facades. See more
  • Unité d’habitation 09 Unité d’habitation The Unité d’habitation de Marseille, the founding work of architectural Brutalism, is the major test of a new mode of housing based on the balance between the individual and the collective. See more
  • Manufacture à Saint-Dié 10 Manufacture à Saint-Dié The Manufacture de Saint-Dié, originating in the standards of the Radiant City and the Athens Charter, is the prototype of the Usine Verte that revolutionised working conditions. See more
  • Maison du
Docteur Curutchet 11 Maison du
    Docteur Curutchet
    The Maison du Docteur Curutchet demonstrates the influence of the Architectural Work of Le Corbusier on a global scale and attests to the internationalisation of the Modern Movement after the Second World War. See more
  • Chapelle
Notre-Dame-du-Haut 12 Chapelle
    Notre-Dame-du-Haut
    The Chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut de Ronchamp is iconic of Christianity's sacred architecture, revolutionizing 20th century religious architecture. See more
  • Cabanon de Le Corbusier 13 Cabanon de Le Corbusier The Cabanon de Cap-Martin is both a total work of art and the archetype of the minimum cell, based on an absolute ergonomic and functionalist approach. See more
  • Complexe du Capitole 14 Complexe du Capitole The Complexe du Capitole de Chandigarh is a masterpiece of monumental and sculptural architecture celebrating the independence of a nation opening out simultaneously towards freedom and modernity. See more
  • Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette 15 Couvent Sainte-Marie-
    de-la-Tourette
    The Couvent Sainte-Marie de La Tourette is a unique synthesis of the achievements of the Modern Movement, combining Purist forms, Brutalist textures and revolutionary solutions in terms of living space. See more
  • Musée National des
Beaux-Arts de l’Occident 16 Musée National des
    Beaux-Arts de l’Occident
    The Musée National des Beaux-Arts d’Occident in Tokyo, the prototype of the globally transposable museum of unlimited growth, testifies to the long-standing reception of The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier in Japan and the universalisation of the Modern Movement. See more
  • Maison de la Culture
de Firminy-Vert 17 Maison de la Culture
    de Firminy-Vert
    The Maison de la Culture de Firminy, an innovative programme based on the concepts of the Radiant City and the Athens Charter, anticipates modern sculptural forms in architecture. See more
Close

L'œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier,
une contribution exceptionnelle
au mouvement moderne

L’œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier au patrimoine mondial

L’inscription sérielle de l’œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial est intervenue au mois de juillet 2016 lors de la 40 ème session du Comité du patrimoine mondial à Istanbul. Elle est le fruit d’un travail collectif réalisé par l’Allemagne, l’Argentine, la Belgique, la France, l’Inde, le Japon et la Suisse.

Il s’agit d’une inscription transnationale. Les dix-sept éléments qui composent la série constituent un ensemble pertinent au regard de l’influence de l’œuvre de Le Corbusier dans le monde. Chacun contribue à la valeur universelle exceptionnelle de la série et lui confère sa cohérence interne.

L’inscription sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO d’un ensemble de bâtiments réalisés par Le Corbusier et l’engagement des États associés sont le garant de la pérennité de l’œuvre.

  • Vue 1
  • Vue 2
  • Maisons La Roche
et Jeanneret 01 Maisons La Roche
    et Jeanneret
    Les Maisons La Roche et Jeanneret sont la première expression du Purisme en architecture. En savoir plus
  • Petite villa
au bord du lac Léman 02 Petite villa
    au bord du lac Léman
    La Petite villa au bord du Lac Léman est l’archétype de la maison minimum. En savoir plus
  • Cité Frugès 03 Cité Frugès La Cité Frugès est le prototype de cité standardisée dans les années vingt, d’une ambition inégalée à cette époque. En savoir plus
  • Maison Guiette 04 Maison Guiette Fondée sur le Pavillon de L’Esprit Nouveau, la Maison Guiette est la première commande reçue par Le Corbusier à l’étranger et symbolise sa reconnaissance précoce à l’échelle européenne. En savoir plus
  • Maisons de la
Weißenhof-Siedlung 05 Maisons de la
    Weißenhof-Siedlung
    Les Maisons de la Weissenhof Siedlung sont deux modèles exceptionnels d’habitat en série pour le plus grand nombre ; elles connaissent un impact planétaire par l’écho international que reçoit l’exposition d’architecture du Deutscher Werkbund en 1927 consacrée au thème du logement. En savoir plus
  • Villa Savoye et
loge du jardinier 06 Villa Savoye et
    loge du jardinier
    La Villa Savoye et loge du jardinier est l’icône absolue du Mouvement moderne, immédiatement reconnue comme telle. En savoir plus
  • Immeuble Clarté 07 Immeuble Clarté L’immeuble Clarté, issu du prototype de l’Immeuble-villas est le prototype de la préfabrication du logement moderne de standing. En savoir plus
  • Immeuble locatif
à la Porte Molitor 08 Immeuble locatif
    à la Porte Molitor
    L’Immeuble locatif à la Porte Molitor est le premier immeuble d’habitation au monde à façades entièrement vitrées. En savoir plus
  • Unité d’habitation 09 Unité d’habitation L’Unité d’habitation de Marseille, œuvre fondatrice du Brutalisme architectural, est l’essai majeur d’un nouveau mode d’habitat fondé sur l’équilibre entre l’individuel et le collectif. En savoir plus
  • Manufacture à Saint-Dié 10 Manufacture à Saint-Dié La Manufacture de Saint-Dié, issue des standards de la Ville Radieuse et de la Charte d’Athènes, est le prototype de l’Usine Verte qui révolutionne les conditions de travail. En savoir plus
  • Maison du
Docteur Curutchet 11 Maison du
    Docteur Curutchet
    La Maison du docteur Curutchet traduit l’influence de L’Œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier à l’échelle planétaire et témoigne de l’internationalisation du Mouvement moderne après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En savoir plus
  • Chapelle
Notre-Dame-du-Haut 12 Chapelle
    Notre-Dame-du-Haut
    La Chapelle Notre-Dame-du-Haut est l’icône de l’architecture sacrée chrétienne qui révolutionne l’architecture religieuse au XXe siècle. En savoir plus
  • Cabanon de Le Corbusier 13 Cabanon de Le Corbusier Le Cabanon de Le Corbusier est à la fois œuvre d’art total et archétype de la cellule minimum, fondée sur une approche ergonomique et fonctionnaliste absolue. En savoir plus
  • Complexe du Capitole 14 Complexe du Capitole Le Complexe du Capitole de Chandigarh est le chef-d’œuvre d’une architecture monumentale et sculpturale célébrant l’indépendance d’une nation qui s’ouvre en même temps à la liberté et à la modernité. En savoir plus
  • Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette 15 Couvent Sainte-Marie-
    de-la-Tourette
    Le Couvent Sainte-Marie de La Tourette est une synthèse unique d’acquis du Mouvement moderne, où se combinent formes puristes, textures brutalistes et solutions révolutionnaires en matière d’habitat. En savoir plus
  • Musée National des
Beaux-Arts de l’Occident 16 Musée National des
    Beaux-Arts de l’Occident
    Le Musée National des Beaux-Arts d’Occident à Tokyo, prototype du Musée à croissance illimitée transposable mondialement, atteste la réception de longue date de L’Œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier au Japon et de l’universalisation du Mouvement moderne. En savoir plus
  • Maison de la Culture
de Firminy-Vert 17 Maison de la Culture
    de Firminy-Vert
    La Maison de la Culture de Firminy, programme innovant issu des concepts de la Ville Radieuse et de la Charte d’Athènes, anticipe les formes sculpturales modernes en architecture. En savoir plus
Fermer