L'œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier,
une contribution exceptionnelle
au mouvement moderne
Serie

Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette, 1953

The Couvent Sainte-Marie de La Tourette is a unique synthesis of the achievements of the Modern Movement, combining Purist forms, Brutalist textures and revolutionary solutions in terms of living space.

Built on a square U-shaped plan, to the north off by the nave of the church, the convent is directly inspired by Cistercian models. Implanted on steeply sloping ground, it finds its “bed”, in the architect’s words, on the crest of the hill and comes to terms with the declivity by means of the pilotis. From the path that runs along the ridge of the hill, you accede directly to the third of the building’s five levels. Above this floor, devoted to study and seminars (library and workrooms), are levels 1 and 2 exclusively reserved for monks’ cells. An accessible terrace, connected to the roof of the church by a footbridge, is covered with a thin layer of insulating earth. Levels 4 and 5 below the floor are truncated by the slope of the land. Level 4, dedicated to the collective life of the community (refectory, chapter, atrium), is served by two wide corridors forming a cross in the courtyard centre. These circulation spaces, known as “cloisters”, also lead to the church.
The lowest level, the fifth one, placed directly on the ground, is reduced to two separate building blocks: under the refectory, the kitchen and a common room, and under the church, the cellars. A spiral staircase, wrapped in an external turret, directly connects the seminar wing to the level 4 dining hall and level 5 kitchen.
The church forms the northern wing, independent of the rest of the convent. It is in the form of a simple “box” of raw concrete, covered by a roof terrace accessible from the west wing by a footbridge. Inside reigns the greatest austerity. A few steps separate the choir from the wooden and concrete stalls. Three “light cannons” diffuse light coloured by the wall paints (blue-yellow-red) in the adjacent “ear-shaped” north chapel.

Light functions here as an element in the service of exceptional spatial innovation. Le Corbusier deploys a whole range of devices to control natural light, sculpting space and volumes: light cannon, light gun, light ray, loggia, and undulating glazing, a device invented together with Iannis Xenakis and used here for the first time.

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Elevation section of convent with captions
Plan FLC 01210

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Sketch of convent
Plan FLC 01234

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Axonometric view of the convent showing ramp with silhouettes, sketches and ratings
Plan FLC 01244

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Unknown photographer
FLC L1(7)40

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Interior view, a cell
Unknown photographer
FLC L1(7)99

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

View of the convent
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Facade facing inner courtyard
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Inner facade
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Inner facade
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Tunnel leading to the church
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Detail of the church
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

The altars of side chapel enlightened by  “canons à lumière”
Ph. Cemal Emden

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

The refectory
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

view of a cell
Ph. Olivier-Martin Gambier

Close

L'œuvre architecturale de Le Corbusier,
une contribution exceptionnelle
au mouvement moderne
La série

Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette, 1953

Le Couvent Sainte-Marie de La Tourette est une synthèse unique d’acquis du Mouvement moderne, où se combinent formes puristes, textures brutalistes et solutions révolutionnaires en matière d’habitat.

Construit sur un plan carré en forme de « U » fermé au nord par le vaisseau de l’église, le couvent s’inspire directement des modèles cisterciens. Implanté sur un terrain fortement incliné, il prend, selon l’expression de l’architecte, « son assiette » sur le haut du vallon et compose avec la déclivité grâce aux pilotis. Depuis le chemin qui court sur la crête du vallon, on accède directement au troisième niveau du bâtiment qui en compte cinq. Au-dessus de cet étage d’accueil, consacré à l’étude et aux séminaires (bibliothèque et salles de travail), se trouvent les niveaux 1 et 2 exclusivement réservés aux cellules des moines. Une terrasse accessible, reliée au toit de l’église par une passerelle, est recouverte d’une mince couche de terre isolante. Les niveaux 4 et 5 situés sous l’étage d’accueil sont tronqués par la pente du terrain. Le niveau 4, consacré à la vie collective de la communauté (réfectoire, chapitre, atrium), est desservi par deux larges couloirs qui dessinent une croix au cœur de la cour. Ces espaces de circulation, dénommés « cloître » conduisent également à l’église.
Le niveau le plus bas, le cinquième, directement posé sur le sol, se réduit à deux corps de bâtiment séparés : sous le réfectoire, la cuisine et une salle commune, et sous l’église, les caves. Un escalier hélicoïdal, enveloppé dans une tourelle extérieure, relie directement l’aile des séminaires au réfectoire du niveau 4 et à la cuisine du niveau 5.
L’église constitue l’aile septentrionale indépendante du reste du couvent. Elle se présente sous la forme d’une simple « boîte » de béton brut, couverte d’un toit-terrasse accessible depuis l’aile occidentale par une passerelle. À l’intérieur, règne le plus grand dépouillement. Quelques marches séparent le chœur des stalles en bois et béton. Trois « canons à lumière » diffusent dans la chapelle nord adjacente dite en « oreille » une lumière colorée par la peinture des murs (bleu-jaune-rouge).

La lumière y est un matériau au service d’une exceptionnelle innovation spatiale. Le Corbusier y déploie toute une palette de dispositifs de contrôle de la lumière naturelle qui sculptent l’espace et les volumes : canon à lumière, mitraillette à lumière, rai de lumière, loggia, et les pans ondulatoires, dispositif inventé et utilisé pour la première fois ici, avec Iannis Xénakis.

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Coupe en élévation du couvent avec légende
Plan FLC 1210

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Croquis du couvent
Plan FLC 1234

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Vue axonométrique du couvent montrant rampe avec silhouettes, croquis et cotes
Plan FLC 1244

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Ph. non identifié
FLC L1(7)40

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Vue intérieure, une cellule
Ph. non identifié
FLC L1(7)99

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Vue du couvent
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Façade sur cour intérieure
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Façade intérieure
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Façade intérieure
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Galerie donnant accès à l’église, pans ondulatoires
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Détail de l’église
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Les autels de la chapelle latérale éclairés par les canons à lumière
Ph. Cemal Emden

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Le réfectoire
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Couvent Sainte-Marie-
de-la-Tourette
Couvent Sainte-Marie- de-la-Tourette

Vue d’une cellule
Ph. Olivier Martin Gambier

Fermer